Category Archives: Album Reviews

Keyboardist Dan Siegel returns with a lush collection of astute jazz etched in melodically rich “Indigo”


Having recorded a catalogue of Top 10 albums in a vivid spectrum of jazz hues with topflight musicians for 35 years, Dan Siegel only emerges when he has something engaging to say with his poetic piano and crafty keyboards. Back

Chicago Born Grammy Award Winning Modern Jazz Trumpeter Maurice Brown: 3-Night Residency, Andy’s Jazz Club Oct 16 -18, 2014


“Essentially, Brown and his quintet have found the place where jazz, soul and pop converge, shortchanging none of these languages but drawing eloquently from each of them.” – Chicago Tribune   “Hearing Maurice Brown play lets me know that jazz

Bassist/Composer Omer Avital Delves Into The Culture of His Homeland Through Jazz On His New CD, NEW SONG

omer-avital-new song

Bassist/composer Omer Avital, one of the most celebrated and revered musicians on the global jazz scene, offers his current creative tour-de-force, New Song, to be released on Motema Music on November 4, 2014. New Song, the follow up recording to

Kasia Lins – Take My Tears


The self-composed album recorded at Ocean Way Studios in Nashville with a host of seasoned musicians including jazz pianist and arranger Nick Manson, Zoro (drummer from Lenny Kravitz Band), Tower of Power members Larry Braggs (vocals), Jerry Cortez (guitar) and

Etic Darius – Retro Forward


Eric Darius is one of the true rising stars of Smooth/Urban Jazz. Adored by his growing legion of fans, Eric tours constantly with such superstars as Maxwell, Joe, Mary J. Blige, Prince, and many others. Additionally Eric is a mainstay

Marcin Wasilewski Trio with Joakim Milder- Spark of Life

Marcin-Wasilewski-Trio-with-Joakim-Milder--Spark of Life

What do you do when you’ve released three albums as a trio (more, if you include albums released in Poland, prior to coming to the label) for a producer who traditionally seems to like shaking things up after that magic

Ron Miles – Circuit Rider

ron-miles-circuit rider

A compelling, inviting trio date with guitarist Bill Frisell and drummer Brian Blade, which combines the singing melodicism of American folk music, the heightened communication of progressive jazz, and an entrancing, airy openness! Master trumpeter Ron Miles injects his radiant, lyrical

Jonathan Sigel – Hard Water

jonathan-sigel-hard water

Sweet soulful trumpet from Jonathan Sigel – an artist who’s got a really great ear for the best fusion styles of the 70s – particularly work by some of the more R&B inflected trumpet players of the time! The grooves

Peter Furler – Christmas


From the traditional orchestration of ‘O Come All Ye Faithful’ to the deconstructed ‘O Come O Come Emmanuel’, the arrangements reflect a solemn respect for these timeless Christmas classics. For example, Furler’s introspective vocal delivery on ‘We Three Kings’ coupled

Chelsey Green & The Green Project – The Green Room (2014)

Chelsey-Green&The-Green-Project–The Green Room (2014)

Violinist, viola player, and vocalist Chelsey Green bounces from funky dance tracks with R&B seasonings and bopping grooves to classically-twined silhouettes on her full-length debut album The Green Project. The collaboration of chamber strings and guitars are trellised in the